Records show that a school with about forty pupils was flourishing in the village in the 1800’s.
The present building was opened in 1890. The old school logbooks from the turn of the century provide fascinating reading. They document the school’s experience of the war and evacuation as well as children being kept at home to help with harvest or the whole school being shut to go blackberry picking! We even have a punishment log detailing the number of children caned for misbehavior!
The school was remodelled in the 1990’s and we have employed an architect to draw up a plan to extensively remodel the current building. Exciting times!